17th Dec 2023 @ 10:00 am

As usual, there will be 14 public holidays this year. Eight are national, and cannot be changed. Four are decided by the Canarian Government (one of which is an island holiday), and the remaining two are fixed by local councils.


Mon 1st January – New Year’s Day

Fri 29th March – Good Friday

Wed 1st May – Workers’ Day

Thur 15th August – Assumption

Sat 12th October – Spain’s National Day

Fri 1st November – All Saint’s Day

Fri 6th December – Constitution Day

Wed 25th December – Christmas Day

(Weekend low-rate energy tariffs only operate on these national holidays).


Sat 6th January – Epiphany (Three Kings Day)*

Thur 28th March – Holy Thursday*

Thur 30th May – Canary Day

Mon 16th September – Fiesta de Nuestra Señora de los Dolores (Lanzarote holiday)

*While these days are likely to be holidays throughout Spain, it is regional governments who choose them.


Municipal holidays have still not been announced by the Ayuntamientos. However, these are the most likely dates:


Tue 13th – February Carnival Tuesday

Sun 25th – August San Ginés*

San Bartolomé

Tue 13th February – Carnival Tuesday

Sat 24th August – San Bartolomé


Tue 13th February – Carnival Tuesday

Mon 24th June – San Juan


Fri 2nd February – Day of Candelaría

Tue 13th February – Carnival Tuesday


Tue 16th July – Nuestra Señora del Carmen

Mon 24th June – San Juan


Tue 13th February – Carnival Tuesday

Mon 24th June – San Juan


Sun 7th July – San Marcial*

Sun 8th September – Nuestra Señora de los Remedios*

*As these days fall on a Sunday, new dates will be announced.

For regular updates, pictures and videos of Lanzarote be sure to like and follow our Facebook page “Gazette Life Lanzarote”.