7th Dec 2022 @ 11:34 am

As usual, there will be 14 public holidays next year. Eight are national, and cannot be changed. Four are decided by the Canarian Government (one of which is an island holiday), and the remaining two are fixed by local councils. Here is the list:

National Holidays:

7th April – Good Friday

1st May – Workers’ Day

15th August – Assumption

12th October – Spain’s National Day

1st November – All Saint’s Day

6th December – Constitution Day

8th December – Immaculate Conception

25th December – Christmas Day

Weekend low-rate energy tariffs only operate on these national holidays.

Canarian Holidays:

6th January – Epiphany (Three Kings Day)*

6th April – Holy Thursday*

30th May – Canary Day

16th September – Fiesta de Nuestra Señora de los Dolores (Lanzarote holiday)

* While these days are likely to be holidays throughout Spain, it is regional governments who choose them.

Municipal Holidays:

Municipal holidays have still not been announced by Ayuntamientos. However, these are the most likely dates:


21st February: Carnival

25th August: San Ginés

San Bartolomé

21st February: Carnival

24th August: San Bartolomé


28th February: Carnival

24th June: San Juan


2nd February: Day of Candelaria

21st February: Carnival


16th July: Nuestra Señora del Carmen

24th June: San Juan


21st February: Carnival

24th June: San Juan


7th July: San Marcial

8th September: Nuestra Señora de los Remedios

For regular updates, pictures and videos of Lanzarote be sure to like and follow our Facebook page “Gazette Life Lanzarote”.