18th Jun 2023 @ 9:06 am

The seven elected Mayors of Lanzarote received their ceremonial batons yesterday, marking the start of their new terms. The Mayors are as follows:

Tías: José Juan Cruz (PSOE)

Teguise: Olivia Duque (CC)

Yaiza: Óscar Noda (UPY)

Arrecife: Astrid Pérez (PP)

San Bartolomé: Isidro Pérez (PSOE)

Haria: Alfredo Villalba (PSOE)

Tinajo: Jesús Machín (CC)

The only new Mayors are in Teguise, where Olivia Duque relied on the votes of the CC and Vox to be appointed; and Haría, where Alfredo Villalba will govern in a minority. Haría was also the only municipality to change hands from one party to another in the elections.

For regular updates, pictures and videos of Lanzarote be sure to like and follow our Facebook page “Gazette Life Lanzarote”.