14th May 2023 @ 9:26 am

Awards were handed out at the Lanzarote Film Festival last night at the Teatro del Salinero in Arrecife.

The festival of short films, now in its 23rd year, came to an end after a week in which films had been premiered at the Almacén arts centre. Prizes were awarded in six categories, with a jury award and a public award in each category. The jury included directors Fernando Colomo, Pilar Palomero, and Marina Seresesky and actors Ricardo Gómez, Álvaro Cervantes and Santi Alverú.

The prizes were as follows:

Canarian Shorts:

Jury: Visionado’, by Manuel Román.

Public: ‘Confecciones Saavedra’, by Pedro Ayose and José Martret.

Spanish Fiction:

Jury: ‘Mesa para 3’, by Álvaro G. Company and Meka Ribera

Public: ‘Actos por partes’, by Sergio Millán.


Jury: ‘Murder Tongue’ Ali Sohail Jaura (Pakistan)

Public:  ‘The Stupid Boy’ by Phil Dunn (UK)

Animated Short

Jury: Hjemmekontor (Home Office)’ by Endre Lund Eriksen and Daniel Damm (Norway)

Public:  ‘Slouch’, by Michael Bohnenstingl (Germany)


Jury:  ‘Mi holocausto, Philomena Franz’ by David Navarro

Public: ‘Barefoot Empress’ by Vikas Khanna.

For regular updates, pictures and videos of Lanzarote be sure to like and follow our Facebook page “Gazette Life Lanzarote”.